Lemon Dijon Salmon with Asparagus and Potatoes, and I’m Already Behind

WOW the end of break happened fast, didn’t it?! It’s only the first few days of February and I don’t know how that happened. I blinked and school had started and I had been super slow to actually post things to this blog. Sorry about that!

Related image
Source: reactiongifs.us

Anyway, I am back, I hope. I should stop over-promising and under-delivering on this blog, and I know that. I don’t do that with my advisor (at least, I try not to!) but somehow it’s so easy to always SAY I am going to post a bunch and then just…not. It’s partly that I forget. It’s partly that I forget the recipe for whatever I made that I wanted to post. And it’s partly this:

This week’s recipe I’m sharing is Lemon Dijon Salmon with Asparagus and Potatoes. It’s a balanced meal on a sheet pan, which makes it super convenient, and the sauce has got lots of flavor going on. It’s a twist on this recipe from No Spoon Needed, but with a little less lemon, a little more acidity in the sauce, and a few other tweaks, but credit where credit is due-~-this recipe is very, very close.

20190131_184228.jpg

I cannot recommend using meals like this enough: they are low-stress, and they require very little active effort. Plus, this is a balanced meal hitting all of your major food groups. So throw this in the oven and enjoy!

20190131_184439

RECIPE:

For the sauce:

2 T olive oil

2 T Dijon mustard

2 tsp apple cider vinegar

1/2 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp chopped garlic

Salt and pepper, to taste

For the meal:

2 4-oz or 6-oz salmon fillets (I recommend sockeye salmon)

1 bunch asparagus, trimmed

2 cups small, preferably rainbow potatoes

1 tsp chopped garlic

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  2. Combine all sauce ingredients in a bowl
  3. Place the potatoes along one edge of the pan. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast for 10 minutes.
  4. Pull the pan from the oven. Arrange the asparagus near the potatoes, drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle the potatoes and asparagus with chopped garlic. Place the salmon on the other side of the pan, and spread the sauce over it.
  5. Bake for 12-15 minutes until fish is cooked through (it should be flaking) and asparagus is fork-tender.

 

 

Leave a comment